The Clydesdale Music and Art Studio - Home - PUEBLO, CO
The Clydesdale Music and Art Studio  - Lessons : All levels Violoncello : Elementary Violin-Viola
The Studio Concert September 8,2017 with Dr. David Volk, Music Chair CSU-Pueblo 
Cello:All levels
Beginning VIOLIN and VIOLA
String Pedagogue

The Clydesdale Music and Art Studio
321 W. Northern Avenue
81004 PUEBLO, CO.

Colorado State University PUEBLO

Norah Joy Clydesdale comes from a family of musicians originating in Glasgow, Scotland. Her grandfather, Mr. Robert Clydesdale, was an orchestra conductor and cellist who immigrated to New York State in 1932.  Norah studied with Colin Hampton of the Griller Quartet and Andor Toth, Jr. of the 

Hungarian Quartet at the San Francisco Conservatory. She then traveled south to study with Gabor Reijto and Bernardo Segall at USC before culminating her training at Boston University. In Boston Ms. Clydesdale studied for seven years with world-renowned concert cellist and pedagogue George Neikrug. Ms. Clydesdale has participated in Masterclasses with Isaac Stern, Walter Trampler and Eugene Lehner of the Kolisch Quartet. She played professionally in the Boston area--principally as a chamber musician, performing the entire Beethoven Quartets Cycle with the Artaria Quartet before moving to Paris, France. In France she was an active educator, teaching cello, violin, and the love of music to children and adults in Paris. Ms. Clydesdale also developed the string department at the Lycee Ombrosa in Lyon, France. Ms. Clydesdale rounded out her career in Europe teaching music to young school children in Milan, Italy. Norah recently returned from Europe and is now an active performer and educator in Colorado. She has performed with the Grace String Quartet, as Assistant Principal Cello of the Chamber Orchestra of the Springs, and was Principal Cello of the Pikes Peak Philharmonic for the last three years. Norah also performs with the Pueblo Symphony Orchestra, and is a founding member of the Colorado State University's Prometheus Piano Trio. Norah is on the Adjunct Faculty as Cello Instructor at CSU-Pueblo and on the Faculty at Pikes Peak Community College as well. She is the Music Director at St. John Neumann Catholic School in Pueblo and also maintains private teaching studios in Colorado Springs and Pueblo.


May 12, 2017

Trying out a new cello at Robertson's Violin Shop in Albuquerque, New Mexico


Classically Alive presents:

Beethoven, Bax & Beyond 

Norah Clydesdale, cello Abe Minzer, piano

Saturday, April 28, 2018  6:00 PMClassically Alive - Minzer/Schreuder Residence8 Broadmoor Hills Drive, Colorado Springs, CO 80906$20 includes “not so light” refreshments and drinksPLEASE RSVP EARLY- for reservations and info please contact Abe Minzer at:[email protected] or 229-2239

Come join us for an evening filled with great music featuring Norah Clydesdale on the cello, Abe Minzer on piano.  So many people comment to me, how much they love the cello.  And Beethoven!, a favorite composer for so many will be featured, along with England’s best-kept secretSir Arnold Bax, plus a trio of wonderful “Beyond” composers.
Our program opens with a beautiful romantic musical poem, “Silent Woods” by Antonin Dvorak.  This work is tender, sentimental, poignant and with touches that evoke Dvorak’s Czech heritage and landscape.  Then follows a meditative work, “Two Hebraic Melodies” by Maurice Ravel, the Impressionist musical master.  The first melody, “Kaddish”, is a memorial prayer, and the beautiful cello melody, in Jewish improvisatory cantorial style, has a deep, dark, soulful tone.  The brief second melody, “The Eternal Enigma”, employs regular rhythms and recurring harmonic patterns, creating a hypnotic effect.
The major work of the first half is the Legend-Sonata by Sir Arnold Bax.  This is a rarely heard work, that cellist and pianist here are most excited to perform for Classically Alive.  Bax’s music abounds in inspired melodies with lush, sensual, romantic harmonies.  His music is a fusion of styles reminiscent of Debussy, Strauss, Rachmaninoff and others, but with something that is uniquely Bax.  The first movement of the Legend-Sonata has a fantasy-like quality with moods shifting between forceful, whimsical, sensual, mystical, veiled and ferocious, to name a few.  The second movement is slow and romantic, with memorable melodies, and is recognized as one of Bax’s most inspired efforts.   The third/final movement opens with a playful dance-like theme, and much of the movement has a fun, mischievous nature with surprises and wit throughout.  Beautiful soaring melodies with harmonic ingenuity make their appearances, and brilliant, exalted writing ends the imaginative Legend-Sonata.
The Beethoven Sonata in C Major for Cello and Piano is from the composer’s late period, a time of the composer’s most sublime output.  Each of the two movements of the sonata begin slow and reflective, followed by faster, energetic music.  The slow music is mainly poetic, either expressive or sweet, as noted by the composer’s indications in the score.  The fast music in the first movement has an enigmatic, searching intense quality, while the second movement offers a lighter, happier mood.
Closing the program is the Hungarian Rhapsody of David Popper.  Popper was one of the greatest cellist of the 19th century, working Liszt, Brahms and other notables.  The Popper Rhapsody borrows theme from Liszt’s Hungarian Rhapsodies for piano.  Popper’s heartfelt melodies evoking Eastern Europe folk and his brilliant virtuoso writing with its gypsy flair, will no doubt bring “Beethoven, Bax & Beyond” to a rousing conclusion.                               

Waldesruhe (Silent Woods)                                                Antonin Dvorak (1841 -1904)
Two Hebraic Melodies (1914)                                        Maurice Ravel (1875 - 1937)          I: Kaddish         II: The Eternal Enigma
Legend - Sonata for Cello and Piano (1943)                 Arnold Bax (1883 - 1953)          I: Allegro risoluto         II: Lento espressivo        III: Allegro

Sonata No. 4 in C Major for Cello and Piano, Op. 102, No. 1                                                                                            Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 - 1827)    I: Andante - Allegro vivace         
II: Adagio - Tempo d’Andante - Allegro vivace         
Hungarian Rhapsody, Op. 68                                    David Popper (1843 - 1913)

JS Bach Suite 1 for Unaccompanied Cello
You need Flash Player in order to view this.


You need Flash Player in order to view this.


You need Flash Player in order to view this.
Video 6



Website Builder provided by  Vistaprint